The little one was looking back and forth.  The other two were wary and embarrassed.  They had been in fights.  The little one was rolling his sleeves.  I said we would talk to whoever we wanted.  I thought this little one was likely to throw a punch.

Eric must have looked away because he hadn’t said anything in awhile, but the little one went for him.  I punched twice on the back of his head because I didn’t know what else to do.  Eric had been looking away.  Then the larger congenial friends who could probably hurt me badly held me by my shoulders.  “One on one is fair,” said one of them, and during that time Eric had got his balance.  I decided the large gentlemen were right.  One of them was wearing a rugby jersey so we talked about that while Eric and the little one were bent over a car.

I had a bottle in my hand but didn’t understand why.  Someone was pulling on my arm.  People aren’t allowed to do that, so I shoved.  Then the bouncer punched me in the eye and another pushed me out the door.  Eric was standing there, waiting for me. “What the hell,” I said, and he agreed.  The bouncer came outside and looked at me.  I said the worst things I could think of, but the bouncer went inside.  

There were about thirty people standing out in the cold.  “I kicked him,” said Pan, “and I’d kick him again.”  Nick was wiping his mouth.  He and the other guy looked about the same.  They had both been on the pavement for awhile.  

The police officer asked if he could see my identification.  “We were just leaving,” I said.  “We’re getting in a cab.”  I walked until I saw a yellow door, opened it, and pushed them in.

