I wore a green bathrobe during that month and never knew why, rising at about ten or eleven, going to a class if there were one at that hour, eating creamed spinach and candied sweet potatoes from little styrofoam containers, feeling nothing but devoid of energy, the summer heat present though it was May at best, watching excellent movies on our excellent projection television and stretching for my runs, for I was running, two loops around the stone village and around again (during this course I was not wearing the green robe) and drinking sweet beers afterwards, letting my hair get long as I simply had no time for barbering, readying myself to entertain ladies, and studying, for I was inquisitive, Logan’s Run for a day, repeated end to end, thawing out the burgers and fishing out the macanudos, earning an education.

