When I awoke I knew things had happened.  I was two inches shorter, my hair had been trimmed, I had gained five pounds and had apparently purchased fine clothes, or someone had purchased them for me.

P was just sitting there.  “What happened to me?”

“Nothing,” he said.

“I’ve got to get home.”

“You’re in no state to drive,” P said with his typical impertinence.  I checked my pockets but found no keys.  P saw me patting at my waistcoat and turned away; I knew at once he had them.

It was too bright outside.  I was tired.  P was always the three feet ahead of me, never closer or further away.  He was laughing.  He kept hanging rights until we were back at the house.  “I don’t have your keys,” he told me.  “I have to use the bathroom, hold on.”

Inside they were making preparations for dinner.  The girls were coming over soon; they’d be smelling fresh and pretty.  Things had to be cheery to pay them back for that.

“Aren’t you the least bit concerned?” asked P.

“Of course not,” I said.  “I can’t be hypnotized.”                      Photo on 2-18-13 at 2.51 PM

